Ardgowan Club

Burns Supper 2015

Ardgowan Club had a most successful evening when
they recently held their Annual Burns Supper.

The evening was chaired by newly installed club
President Douglas Warnock, who led an enjoyable
evening of laughter and song.

The evening got underway with the Haggis Bearer, Campbell McDiarmid,
being piped in by Bill McCready:
the address to ‘The Haggis’ was carried out by local butcher Drew McKenzie.

Immediate Past President Gilbert McCracken gave the Selkirk Grace.

‘The Immortal Memory’ was toasted by Colin Bonar,
who gave an insight into the life of Robert Burns.

A very humorous toast to ‘The Lassies’ was given by Matthew Paterson,
Matthew had travelled through the horrendous weather from Arbroath to be at the club:
an equally humorous reply to Matthews toast was made by Kenny Wilson.

The entertainment for the evening was provided in song by David Stirling
and the readings were carried out by Drew McKenzie.

Kenny Morrison, Senior Vice President rounded off the evening with the
’Vote of Thanks’ before the singing of Auld Lang Syne led by David Stirling.

Burns 16-1-15a

Top – K Morrison, D McKenzie, B McCready

Front – M Paterson, D Warnock, C Bonar, K Wilson